You’ve probably heard of the 5 love languages. You know, the ways that you feel or show love. I’m not an expert on the love languages but they are as follows:

Physical Touch
Acts of Service
Quality Time
Words of Affirmation

In the past, people have asked me what my love language was. And, if you know me, you know I hate personality tests and refuse to answer those type questions. But love languages, I am apt to answer. But my answer is something like, “Knowing what the other person’s way of showing love is, and then realizing they’re doing that to me – that’s my love language.” Or, “When someone does something intentionally and I notice that they’ve done it on purpose, that is my love language.”

So, I’m not opposed to the 5 love languages. Personally, I really like giving gifts. But, I’ve always kinda felt like there was more to it.

Recently, I was at a conference about reunion with God. About fighting against the Spirit of Death and the Spirit of Hatred to restore ourselves to the union Jesus talks about when he says, “I pray that they will all be one, just as you and I are one—as you are in me, Father, and I am in you.” At this conference, the speaker was praying and he said, “Love is Your language.”

My linguist mind blew up! This opened so many doors for me. Love itself is a language?! What a relief. What a joy. If you think about it, every thing Jesus does in the New Testament is love. E.V.E.R.Y.T.H.I.N.G. When he clears out the temple – love. When he touches the leper – love. When he walks away from all the people waiting to meet him – love. When he calls the pharisees white washed tombs – love. When he tells Peter, “Get behind me, Satan” – love. When he lets all the children crawl all over him – love. Those things don’t all fall into the five categories listed above. But they would work if love is a language. With morphology, phonology, syntax, pragmatics and all the facets that make up a language.

Love does not get only 5 definitions to try to fit into. It has countless words with infinite variations of word order. Which makes it impossible to fully understand. Especially since it is our second language. But, God’s been teaching it to us since day 1. It’s his first language and He uses it so well. He loves you in more ways than you can express and he’s showing you in infinite ways every day. Think of that sunset you saw today. Or that warm chocolate chip cookie. Or that swift kick in the behind.

Don’t limit God’s love. Ask him to show you how he’s loving you today. Because I can guarantee you he is. Don’t let the Enemy take away your union with God. Don’t let the Spirits of Hatred and Death assault your ability to hear God’s language.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s